National IOOS

Established by the Integrated Coastal and Ocean Observation System Act of 2009 (ICOOS Act), U.S. IOOS is a interagency network that brings that brings together 17 Federal agencies that, in collaboration with the regional system, provide quality information about our coasts, oceans and Great Lakes.   The US IOOS Program Office, located in NOAA’s National Ocean Service, provides leadership and coordination for the program.  The Interagency Ocean Observing Committee (IOOC) coordinates the activities of the Federal level.  

In addition, the program also:

  • Certifies the RAs as Regional Information Coordinating Entities,
  • Supports a merit-based competitive funding process,
  • Implements a national data management and communications system, and
  • Seeks advice from a System Advisory Committee

Click here to visit the U.S. IOOS website.